WWMTD? Politics, Power, and Mother Teresa

cropped-p1070609.jpgI am not one to get into politics, especially not online, but I find this quote to be vital for us right now in America, especially the last line.

“I used to pray that God would feed the hungry, or do this or that, but now I pray that he will guide me to do whatever I’m supposed to do, what I can do. I used to pray for answers, but now I’m praying for strength. I used to believe that prayer changes things, but now I know that prayer changes us and we change things.”

-Mother Teresa

Prayer changes us and we change things. WE change things. If you don’t like how the world is, if you don’t like how our country is run, CHANGE IT! Do something! You have the power!

I tell that to my dad all the time. He is profoundly disabled and I take care of him. Often he gets frustrated over the things that used to be easy to do, but are now hard for him to do. I tell him, “You are capable! You are able! You have power!”

We all have power. It’s a matter of use and choice really. Do I choose to use my power or do I choose to complain about the state of the world?

And, if you are a Christian, of course what you do is shaped by your prayer life. But it rings true for all of us, what Mother Teresa said: “We change things.”

We choose to get up in the morning, to smile at our families even before coffee, to leave the house and be kind in traffic, to keep our mouths shut when we want to complain about our bosses, to give a granola bar to the homeless man on the corner. We choose our careers, our small actions, our voting habits. All of this is in our hands.

Prayer isn’t a magic solution to our problems. Prayer is how we discover which problems we have been given the power to solve.

How will you change things today? How will you change things tomorrow morning? How will you change things in the November election?

You have the power. How will you use it?

Leave a Reply

