Vulnerable

so here it goes
the doubt
the hate
the fear
no one could like me
that is what I am sure of
no one
and I use
whatever I can
as evidence
these little triggers
assure me
that I am worth-
less

I wish you knew
it would help
maybe then you would like me
or at least tell me
that you do
I wish I weren’t so good
at hiding it
if my mask weren’t
so solid,
you could see
what’s underneath
how fragile I am
I wish you knew
how alike we are
in this
how scared we are
to be vulnerable
I wish you knew
and then, on the off chance
that you loved that
vulnerable me
maybe then I could
too.

Leave a Reply

