Which is worse? The one who acts or the one who ignores the action?

First, read this article and maybe one or two more about the incident which the author is speaking. Second, read my comments below about it. Third, form your own opinions and share them with me in the comments below.

I think the whole world can pretty much agree that rape is bad, which is a good place to start. I applaud the woman who wrote the article and her family for standing by her and supporting her through such terror. It seems like this incident will be the impetus that India needs to move towards reforms in how women are treated both culturally and legally.

While such reforms are excellent, I tend to look at situations like this and ask how it should affect how I live my life. I have little connection to India. What can I do in my world? This is what I think:

Some people might tend to be inspired by this situation to push for further legal reforms that better the life of women in our country. I think that solely seeking out legal solutions to problems fosters an attitude of entitlement rather than an attitude of service. Furthermore, I think that the root problem of the treatment of this woman is not the fault of the law, but rather the fault of the people who ignored her and her companion as they waited, naked, for 45 minutes for the police to show up. That it is the fault of the police who refused to touch her because they did not want to get blood on their uniforms. That it is the fault of the nurses and doctors who let her wait in the hospital as she lay dying.

Laws will not change attitudes. Laws merely force actions.

As a Christian, I believe that I, a sinful fallen human, am entitled to nothing, but that I was given eternal life out of the mercy of a perfect being, God. This means that my life is a gift. And, given such a overwhelming gift, my response must be one of service. My life is worth nothing unless I live it for others.

What I take from this story is that we need to encourage each other, both male and female, to stand up for one other, to help each other, and generally be courageous and righteous people.

The sort of people who stand between the evil and the innocent,
the sort of people who look the homeless man in the eye,
The sort of people who ask the crying stranger how they can help.

If we could each just became the sort of person that treated every person we encountered with dignity. Imagine that sort of world.

“The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.”
-Edmund Burke.

Dusk or Dawn

 

Leave a Reply

